IMG_1020_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Biography

Little beetle

I discovered my interest in music and more specifically in the guitar in the early 1990s. Listening to artists such as Guns N Roses, Jimi Hendrix, Red Hot Chili Peppers, or Rage Against the Machine, unleashed a desire to understand where these sounds I loved so much were coming from.

I spent some years learning the guitar during private lessons. I chose to make it my job. I decided then to go and improve my practice of the instrument and the knowledge of music by studying two years at the Music Academy International of Nancy. Aged 18, I left the lagoons of Tahiti and French Polynesia, where I was living, for the continental climate of eastern France. That time of intense study allowed me to meet and exchange with prestigious speakers such as, among others, Paul Gilbert, Shawn Lane, Ron Thal, Michael Kamen. I could also develop my musical openness, especially in the direction of classical music, jazz and blues, enriching primordial metal and rock.

 

My musical studies completed, I then decided to come and settle in Nantes, France, where I am from.

A life in music

Since then, I have traveled musically within different artistic projects, in various styles, from pop-rock-electro to bossa nova, through heavy metal, hip-hop, variety or music for children.

 

My passion for music allows me to meet artists and musicians of all sensitivities, each meeting bringing its share of wealth.

 

In addition to my musician activities, I developed a teaching practice based on the pleasure of the practice and the tastes of the student. This occupation is exercised in music schools and in private lessons. The topics covered a large range from guitar practice to music theory, including composition and Computer Aided Music.

 

This passion for transmission also led me to write several guitar methods, around metal music. These works are published by the famous publisher of musical educational content Play Music Publishing.

 

1541176227543_adobe_edited.jpg
Vintage Mic

A little further ...

The various meetings gave me the opportunity to compose original music for short movies, communication (Point P, Saunier Duval, Thelem ...), live performance ...

 

Always eager to progress and aware that it is necessary to be experienced in different areas to improve and progress, my path led me to participate in different professional training: Recording and mixing, Music applied to the image, Course Accelerator (experimental training within Trempolino - Nantes - on administration in the music industry, copyright, legislation, communication ...), Management course at the CCI in Nantes ...

 

I was also a transcriptionist for the company Arobase Music, developer of the famous Guitar Pro software.

IMG_1020_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Biographie

Petit scarabée

Je découvre mon intérêt pour la musique et plus particulièrement pour la guitare au début des années 1990. L'écoute d'artistes tels que Guns N Roses, Jimi Hendrix, Red Hot Chili Peppers, ou encore Rage Against the Machine, déclenche en moi le désir de comprendre d'où viennent ces sons que j'aime tant.

Après des premières années d'apprentissage de la guitare en cours particuliers, je choisis d'en faire ma profession et pars approfondir ma pratique de l'instrument et la connaissance de la musique en étudiant deux années à la Music Academy International de Nancy. Âgé de 18 ans, je quitte alors les lagons de Tahiti et de Polynésie, où je vivais, pour le climat continental de l'Est de la France. Ce temps d'étude intense me permet de rencontrer et d'échanger avec des intervenants prestigieux tels que, entre autre, Paul Gilbert, Shawn Lane, Ron Thal, Michael Kamen. J'y développe également mon ouverture musicale, notamment en direction de la musique classique, du jazz et du blues, enrichissant le metal et le rock primordiaux.

Mes études musicales terminées, je décide alors de venir m'installer à Nantes, d'où je suis originaire.

 

Une vie en musique

Depuis lors, je voyage musicalement au sein de différents projets artistiques, dans des styles variés, du pop-rock-electro à la bossa-nova, en passant par le heavy metal, le hip-hop, la variété ou la musique pour enfant.

Ma passion pour la musique me permet de rencontrer des artistes et des musiciens de toutes sensibilités,  chaque rencontre apportant sa part de richesse.

Parallèlement à mes activités de musicien, j'ai développé une pratique de l'enseignement basée sur le plaisir de la pratique et les goûts de l'élève. Cette occupation est exercée en écoles de musique et en cours particuliers. Les thèmes abordés vont de la pratique de la guitare à la théorie musicale, en passant par la composition et la Musique Assistée par Ordinateur.

Cette passion de la transmission m'a également amené à rédiger plusieurs méthodes de guitare, autour de la musique metal. Ces ouvrages sont publiés chez le fameux éditeur de contenus pédagogiques musicaux Play Music Publishing.

1541176227543_adobe_edited.jpg
 
Vintage Mic

Un peu plus loin ...

Les différentes rencontres m'ont donné la possibilité de composer de la musique originale pour le court-métrage, la communication (Point P, Saunier Duval, Thelem ...), le spectacle vivant ...

Toujours désireux de progresser et conscient qu'il est nécessaire d'être aguerri dans différents domaines pour s'améliorer et progresser, mon chemin m'a conduit à participer à différentes formations professionnelles :  Enregistrement et mixage, Musique appliquée à l'image, Parcours Accélérateur (formation expérimentale au sein de Trempolino - Nantes - sur l'administration dans le milieu musical, les droits d'auteur, la législation, la communication ...), cours de Gestion à la CCI de Nantes ...

Je fus également un temps transcripteur pour la société Arobase Music, développeur du célèbre logiciel Guitar Pro.

 

© 2020 - Mathieu Lebot